Page:Academic Awards 2018 Shortlist Announced!

Academic Awards 2018 Shortlist Announced!

Monday 16-04-2018 - 08:00

Academic Awards 2018 Shortlist: Congratulations to the nominees

The Academic Awards nominations period this year saw a fantastic 559 nominations come in for staff and students across the 16 awards, with tough competition in all categories. 

We are excited to announce the nominees who have been shortlisted, after much deliberation, are as follows:

Learning & Teaching
Best Postgraduate Supervisor

1. Katie Edwards (English, SIIBS)
2. Ian Sabroe (Medical School)
3. Robertus von Fay-Siebenburgen (School of Mathematics and Statistics)

Best Postgraduate Student who Teaches

1. Lauren Nixon (English)
2. Itzelle A Medina Pera (Information School)
3. Razvan Apetrei (IPO)

Outstanding Feedback

1. Linda Kotta (Chemical and Biological Engineering)
2. Sam Rigby (Civil and Structural Engineering)
3. Damian Gonzalez Salzberg (Law)

Innovation in Academic Skills Development (Sponsored by 301)

1. Kathryn Williams (School of Languages and Cultures) 
2. Ryan Jones & Pete Mylon (Aerospace Engineering, iForge)
3. Mick Ashman (School of Nursing & Midwifery)

Welfare & Support
Student Futures Award (Sponsored by Careers Service)

1. Julie Balen (ScHARR)
2. Sheffield UCU 
3. Tamara Hervey (Law)

Outstanding Group Contribution to Student Wellbeing

1. Sheffield Nightline 
2. Wellbeing Cafe 
3. Mature Students Committee

Best Academic Mentor

1. Marta Chodorowska (Law)
2. Sarah Broadhurst (DLL) 
3. Lucy Fell (Molecular Biology and Biotechnology)

Best Personal Tutor

1. Panos Nanos (Economics)
2. Russell Buchan (Law)
3. Anna Topakas (Management School)

Most Supportive Non-Academic Staff Member (Sponsored by Student Support Services)

1. Jess Meacham (Journalism)
2. Jenny Smith (Student Advice Centre)
3. Kay Guccione (Management School)

3 Representation & Activism
Best Student Led Event or Activity

1. Sheffield World Health Organization Simulation (SheffWHO)
2. Student Surgical Society 
3. The Roving Picket

Equality & Liberation

1. Sophie Clark (Students' Union)
2. Miriam Miller (WPREU)
3. Cian O'Herlihy (LGBT+ Committee)

Best Academic Representative Team

1. ScHARR Academic Reps 
2. Orthoptics Student Staff Committee 
3. School of Languages & Cultures Student Staff Committee

Best Academic Representative (Sponsored by HEAR)

1. Alice Mercer (Chemical and Biological Engineering)
2. Mina Makin (Electronic and Electrical Engineering)
3. Kristine Lurane (School of Languages and Cultures)

Outstanding Student Contribution, Outstanding Teaching & Academic Communities

Outstanding Teaching

1. Andrew Nichols (Engineering IPO) 
2. Casey Strine (History, SIIBS)
3. Kristine Horner (School of Languages & Cultures)

Academic Communities

1. The Roving Picket, 
2. The Teach-Out (UCU) 
3. Lyes Bouakaz (301)

Outstanding Student Contribution

1. Valerie Grant (English)
2. Matthew Shadrack (Electronic and Electrical Engineering)
3. Thomas Julian (Medicine)

Congratulations to our shortlisted candidates - we look forward to seeing you at the Awards evening celebration. And to everyone who received a nomination - it is truly a testament to your commitment, innovation and engagement within our wonderful academic community. 

For more information on the shortlisting process, please see our website. For any other queries, contact the Academic Representation Team on

Related Tags :

More Sheffield Students' Union Articles

More Articles...